Federal Agencies Recognize Same-Sex Marriage in 6 More States

View More: http://emiliajane.pass.us/two-brides-styled-shoot

Six more states will recognize same-sex marriage, US Attorney General Eric Holder announced on Saturday, October 25. With the federal government recognition, the total number will go up to 32 states, plus District of Columbia. Gay couples may receive federal benefits in these newly added states, which are Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia and Wyoming. 

The Justice Department has been in collaboration with Social Security Administration, the Department of Veterans Affairs, and other federal agencies to expand the benefits. Seven other states, Colorado, Indiana, Nevada, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin, would be added to the list, Mr. Holder said last week. A Supreme Court decision and other rulings by federal appeals court declaring state marriage bans unconstitutional lately helped the expansion of the number of states where same-sex marriage is legal. 

Mr. Holder further stated that they are acting as quickly as possible with agencies throughout the government to ensure that same-sex married couples in these states receive the fullest array of benefits allowable under federal law. 

Source: Wall Street Journal





Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • MySpace
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
  • RSS
  • Twitter
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • Tumblr
  • Fark
  • MyShare
  • StumbleUpon
This entry was posted in Bridal jewelry, Diamond Engagement Rings, Diamond jewelry, Diamond Rings, Diamond Wedding Bands, Diamonds, Gold, Jewelery News, Men's rings, Same Sex Marriage, Wedding, wedding bands and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *